Aims and actions

Aims of the Federal Equal Opportunities Programme for Dual Career Couples (DCC)

There are many couples where both members wish to pursue a career without giving up their private-life relationship. Based on this fact, the Federal Equal Opportunities Programme has the following two main aims:

=> Harmonious integration of researcher couples

The aim is to facilitate smooth integration of both members of dual career couples (DCC), so that these couples remain in Switzerland durably, in order to promote research excellence in Switzerland.

=> An increase in female representation in the academic sector

The programme encourages women researchers from the upcoming generation to continue their academic career. Researchers are more likely to accept a position of responsibility when they can be sure their partner will also find a job that meeting his or her expectations.

DCC offices in the universities

DCC (Dual Career Couples) offices have been set up by the Equal Opportunity Offices of the universities of French- and Italian-speaking Switzerland. They are managed locally (see list of contacts below). They provide information and advice to the partners of researchers and teaching staff recently hired in universities.

These offices were willing to have a regional project that would foster synergy between the different institutions and expand the range of opportunities offered to DCC couples. Regional coordination ensures that the actions carried out are consistent, handles the inter-university DCC requests, manages the communication and awareness-raising campaigns (conferences, seminars) to increase knowledge and awareness of the importance of dual careers management.
The contact persons for each university are:

Aims and actions

The Career2 programme provides support to couples wishing to pursue a dual career in Switzerland. We use a personalized approach that allows you to get information about your professional integration prospects in Switzerland.

The Career2 programme aims to become a platform working to improve:

  • the welcoming of couples and their families;
  • international mobility in universities;
  • professional integration in Switzerland;
  • promotion of women’s careers.

As a couple, when one of the two partners pursues an academic career, the other one has the possibility of being assisted in his/her work integration initiatives in the private or academic sector.

Objectifs et actions

Objectifs du programme fédéral de l’égalité des chances pour les Dual Career Couples (DCC)

Les couples dont les deux membres désirent poursuivre une carrière sans sacrifier leur relation privée sont nombreux.  Fort de ce constat, le Programme fédéral Egalité des chances vise les deux principaux objectifs suivants :

=> Une intégration harmonieuse du couple de chercheurs et chercheuses

Il s’agit de faciliter une intégration harmonieuse des deux membres du couple DCC (dual career couple), afin que ce couple reste en Suisse de façon durable, pour promouvoir une recherche d’excellence en Suisse.

=> Une augmentation des candidatures féminines dans le secteur académique

Le programme encourage les chercheuses à partir du niveau de la relève à poursuivre une véritable carrière académique. Les femmes acceptent plus facilement un poste à responsabilités lorsqu’elles ont l’assurance que leur partenaire trouvera également un emploi à la hauteur de ses exigences.

Les antennes DCC au sein des universités

Les antennes DCC (Dual Career Couples) ont été mises en place  par les bureaux de l’égalité des universités de Suisse latine et sont gérées localement (voir liste de contact ci-dessous). Elles  proposent informations et conseils aux partenaires des chercheurs et chercheuses et professeur-e-s nouvellement engagé-e-s au sein de leur université.

Ces bureaux ont souhaité un projet régional afin de favoriser les synergies entre les différentes institutions, et d’élargir le champ des possibilités offertes aux couples DCC. La coordination régionale assure la cohérence des actions menées et les demandes DCC interuniversitaires, gère les campagnes de communication et de sensibilisation (conférences, séminaires) pour la connaissance et la valorisation des problématiques soulevées par les carrières duales.

Les personnes de contact pour chaque université sont

Objectifs et actions

Le programme Carrière2 offre un soutien aux couples souhaitant poursuivre une double carrière en Suisse. Nous apportons une approche personnalisée qui vous permet de vous informer sur vos perspectives d’intégration professionnelle en Suisse.

Le programme Carrière2 a l’ambition de devenir une plateforme œuvrant pour l’amélioration de :

  • l’accueil des couples et des familles;
  • la mobilité internationale dans le cadre de l’université ;
  • l’intégration professionnelle en Suisse;
  • la promotion des carrières féminines.

Au sein d’un couple, si l’un des deux partenaires poursuit une carrière académique, l’autre a la possibilité d’être soutenu-e dans ses démarches d’intégration professionnelle dans le secteur privé ou académique.